Results are in for the 49 seats on the Vocational panels & University in the 26th Seanad elections. To find out how Seanad voting works, click here

Fifteen women have been elected – an increase of  just one from 2016. Women for Election had hoped to see a more substantial increase but similarly to the General Election, this was not a good election for women.



Political Party Breakdown

  • No women Senators were elected for Fine Gael with three outgoing Senators losing their seats. On the other hand, 12 Fine Gael men were elected.
  • Of the thirteen Fianna Fáil Senators elected, just three are women.
  • The three Green Party candidates were all women, two of whom were elected.
  • Sinn Féin have two new women.
  • Labour have the highest number of women Senators with four.
  • Four Independent Senators were elected.


Vocational Panel Analysis

  • Fine Fáil’s Lisa Chambers is now the only woman on the Culture & Education panel which had two in 2016.


  • There is the same number of women on the Agriculture panel as before, Senator Pippa Hackett (GP) regained her seat and is joined by Cllr Annie Hoey (Lab) & former MEP Lynn Boylan (SF) making up 3 out of the 11 Senators.


  • Cllrs Pauline O Reilly (GP) and Marie Sherlock (Lab) were returned on the 20th count to the Labour panel, making them the only two women on this 11 seater.


  • Senators Catherine Ardagh (FF) and Frances Black (Ind) were returned to the Industrial & Commercial panel. Former MP Elisha McCallion (SF) and Independent Sharon Keogan were elected for the first time onto this nine seater panel.


  • The count for the  7 seats on Administrative panel saw former TD Fiona O’Loughlin (FF) and Cllr Rebecca Moynihan (Lab) elected for the first time..


University Constituencies

The University Constituencies elect three Senators each in the NUI and TCD elections – both panels saw 3 outgoing senators retain their seats.

Independent Senator Alice-Mary Higgins was returned to the NUI panel. In 2016 Alice- Mary became the first woman to sit on the NUI panel since 1982 when Gemma Hussey was elected and remains the only one after this count.

The Trinity constituency returned both Independent Lynn Ruane (who we are proud to have as a board member of Women for Election) and Labour’s Ivana Bacik.



Latest Tweets

Congratulations to our Board Member @DaireKeogh.

We wish you all the best in your new role as @DCU President.

Last one before we take a break over the summer.

Starting next year, at least 30% of CDU government positions and members of parliament in Chancellor Angela Merkel's party are to be filled by women. The quota is to be raised to 40% in 2023 and 50% in 2025.

Clear, achievable targets. It can be done.

Leader of @sinnfeinireland, and first woman Leader of the Opposition, @MaryLouMcDonald is the next guest in our 'In Conversation With...' series.

Deputy McDonald will be speaking to author @MartinaFitzg
- July 16th at 3pm.

Sign up here:

Switch to mobile version