Cork has elected almost 10% of all women ever returned to Dáil Éireann. The 9 women are listed below:


  1. Sandra McLellan (East) – 2011*
  2. Aine Collins (North West) – 2011*
  3. Deirdre Clune (South-Central) – 1997-2002, 2007-2011
  4. Kathleen Lynch (North-Central) – 1994b-1997, 2002*
  5. Mairin Quill (North Central) – 1987-1997
  6. Myra Barry (North-East) – 1979-87
  7. Eilleen Desmond (Mid/South Central) – 65-69, 73-87
  8. Shelia Galvin (Borough) – 1964b-65
  9. Mary MacSwiney (Borough) – 1921-27

Latest Tweets

Is it more difficult for women to campaign during election time? Join the #WomenRule Summit on June 27 in Brussels to speak with Ciairín de Buis, CEO of Women for Election, on a round-table and find out how women can campaign effectively

Looking forward to meeting some of the brilliant @5050NorthWest crew at the @LWLLongford 5050 @women4election training day for candidates on Friday at LWL @NoirinClancy

@WexfordLocalDev @SheenaMadden @AmplifyAgencyIE @wexfordarts @pobal Delighted to be working with @women4election @WexfordLocalDev again. Should be an interesting and fun day!

Wexford followers, help spread the word about this training on April 4th! @WexfordLocalDev @OfficialWexGAA @wexfordopera @wexfordcoco

Shopping cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.